Tags

, , ,

VirtualBox is a virtualisation software like VMware and KVM. I will now attempt to run through a Debian installation with it.

First of all, let us look at the main interface of the software. It looks cleaner as compared to VMware as there are less visible buttons hanging around the interface.

To create a new VM, click on the New button located at the top left corner of the GUI.

You’ll be greeted by this wizard. Select Next.

Enter your desired name and select the OS and OS variant that you’ll be using. For my case, Linux – Debian. One thing nice about VirtualBox is that when I entered Debian as the name, it auto detects that and changes the OS type appropriately.

Once you’re done, select Next.

Choose the amount of RAM that you need. For me, I’m going to go with the recommended RAM value.

Select Next.

Make sure that Start-up Disk is ticked and Create new hard disk selected.

Select Next.

As I don’t intend to migrate to other virtualisation softwares, I’m going to use the VirtualBox’s Disk Image.

Select Next.

Dynamically allocated – doesn’t allocate all of the hard disk space during set up.

  • Pros – doesn’t waste unneeded spaces.
  • Cons – might cause slow downs.

Fixed size – allocate all of the hard disk space during set up.

  • Pros – Space is all allocated at once, so we do not have to worry about running out of hard disk space for the actual machine. Do not have to worry about slow downs.
  • Cons – Takes up unneeded hard disk space when the VM’s allocated hard disk isn’t completely filled.

For my case, since I don’t have to worry about hard disk space running out on my host. I’m going to choose the fixed size disk file.

Select Next.

I’m going to leave the disk file location and size as default.

Select Next.

Verify the settings.

Create.

Once the VM finishes its creation, it is ready to boot. However, I would like to bridge the VM’s network interface to my main network interface card as opposed to the default NAT configuration. Select Network.

Change Attached to: to Bridged Adapter and assign the NIC to it.

Select OK.

Click on start to boot the VM.

Click Next.

Browse to the CD drive or the iso image.

Select Next.

You may now install the guest OS as per usual.

